Review: Plastic Hearts by Miley Cyrus

Miley Cyrus has made herself quite the musical enigma. She’s seemed to tackle every genre under the sun by the age of twenty-seven, but I think she may have found something that sticks. Plastic Hearts promised a new era of classic rock and ’80s punk with the teases Cyrus released in the form of traditional covers and leading single ‘Midnight Sky.’

Album Review: Miley Cyrus Goes Rock on 'Plastic Hearts' | SPIN

I was excited about this release, I’ve been a long time believe Miley Cyrus was meant for rock and her stubborn grasp to keep a pop star was testing my patience. However, as soon as I heard the first track ‘WTF Do I Know’ I knew there was something special here. Miley is very personal and upfront with her subject matter in the album. She’s a self-proclaimed ‘shitty person’ who takes rather than gives and leaves rather than stays.

It’s refreshing; she owns a narrative which few women our proud to show. She’s strikingly independent and feisty and songs like ‘Gimme What I Want’ and ‘Night Crawling’ really show this. However, I think it’s safe to say that her albums in the past haven’t been so coherent and there are definite duds that take a little while to warm into. Most of the slower songs of the album just don’t do it for me, putting ‘Angels Like You’ as the third track when it feels a little more like an ending track.

The choice of collabs on this album are good, Dua Lipa’s already having a great year in the retro pop scene and is another feisty female in pop. Of course, Joan Jett and Stevie Nicks are phenomenal choices and the fact that they are even on the album bodes well for Miley’s reputation. However, I would say that Joan Jett and Billy Idol are quite challenging to recognise their features.

Overall, I do like this album and direction that Miley is going in. Everything she does never fails to excite and attract an audience. I can only imagine how electric the album will eventually be.

Author: saharamelts

An aspiring journalist and writer. Writing general bits and bots.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started